• Search The Shaw Festival’s News Room

Shaw Festival Artistic Director receives Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal

Media Bulletin #6

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, March 1, 2013 . . . The Shaw Festival is proud to announce that Artistic Director Jackie Maxwell has been awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. A celebrated director and dramaturge, Ms. Maxwell has been recognized for significant achievement and dedicated service to her peers, to her community and to Canada. The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, presented the commemorative medal at a reception in the Lieutenant-Governor’s suite at Queen’s Park yesterday afternoon.

“My hope when creating theatre is that it not only touches our audience’s minds and hearts, but that it also acts as inspiration or impetus towards enriching Canadian society,” said Ms. Maxwell. “I am extremely honoured and touched by this prestigious acknowledgement.”

This commemorative medal has been presented over the last year to 60,000 deserving Canadians to celebrate significant contributions and achievements, and to recognize those who, like Her Majesty The Queen, have dedicated themselves to service to their fellow citizens, their community and their country. Recipients of the Diamond Jubilee Medal include Lord Mayor Dave Eke of Niagara-on-the-Lake, author Austin Clarke, film director David Cronenberg, ballet dancer Rex Harrington, Karen Kain, artistic director of the National Ballet of Canada; activist and journalist Michele Landsberg, diplomat Stephen Lewis, singer-songwriter Gordon Lightfoot, Major General (retired) Lewis MacKenzie, news anchor Peter Mansbridge, actor Gordon Pinsent, former news anchor Lloyd Robertson, lawyer Clayton Ruby and journalist Haroon Siddiqui. Additional information about the Diamond Jubilee Medal program is available at www.gg.ca/diamondjubilee.


Please visit our website at www.shawfest.com/news for other Shaw Festival media releases.  For more information, or to download images from our image bank to accompany this release, members of the media may contact:

Odette Yazbeck
Public Relations Director
905-468-2153 or 1-800-657-1106 ext. 2222

Jenniffer Anand
Public Relations Coordinator
905-468-2153 or 1-800-657-1106 ext. 2224

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.